Happy Accident

I don’t know how else to explain this.
My boyfriend is my happy accident. When I first met him, I never thought that I had just met the person I’d spend my life with. I never planned on falling in love. I was actually kind of planning on the relationship crashing and burning, like all the ones before it. Getting to this place in our relationship – or any relationship, for that matter – seemed completely out of reach.
When I’d met him, I’d kind of already given up on finding someone. I was comfortable with the idea of being alone. Being alone didn’t scare me like it did other girls my age. I just thought to myself, I guess that’s just how it is for some people, and left it at that.
He changed my mind about it all. He made me rethink my entire life. He made me reevaluate my goals for myself. He taught me to see my own self worth. He showed me what it was like to live outside of the little cage of anxiety and fear I had made for myself. He gave me an entirely new way of looking at my life and seeing all of the potential I had. And it was only after I learned all of this about myself that I began to notice, really notice, the man behind it all.
He never asked for any thanks. He came in and patched up my life using what can only be described as “scraps of my former self” and helped mold me into someone I’m actually proud of becoming.
I’ve made a lot of mistakes. But it definitely would have been a lot more if it hadn’t been for him.
And to think, it all happened by accident.

I love you, darling. Come hell or high water, I’ll always be there for you, just like you’re always there for me.

Leave a Reply

