Nightmare #1

I had a rather terrible dream one night. It was one of those dreams that you wake up, blinded by beads of sweat mixed with your own tears, grabbing at your chest for a pulse. I have had this dream four times in the past little while, and I think it’s a sign for me to write about it.

Essentially, the dream went something like this:

I was walking through a hospital. (Naturally, the hospital was vacant. A crowded hospital would be far too pleasant for a nightmare, don’t you think?) I was looking for people. In two of these dreams, I was looking for people I am very close to. I was calling everywhere, trying to get the attention of some poor, stranded, lost soul who might need my help. I never heard a sound respond to my shouts, but I knew someone was there.

As I searched, I walked down a massive hallway. Suddenly, a small girl with strawberry blonde hair came out of one of the rooms and asked if I needed help looking. I was startled (for good reason, too. Random girl in empty hospital? Doesn’t quite add up.), but I accepted her offer. She walked me to the front doors of the hospital. The automatic doors opened with a quiet whoosh.

It was raining outside, even though it was rather sunny out. I walked a few steps toward the door, but the girl grabbed my wrist and pulled back. When I asked her why she stopped me, she said that we couldn’t let the rain hit us. I asked why and she pulled a small dwarf hamster from the pocket on her dress. She stroked its fur and set it down, allowing it to leave the hospital and scurry outside. As soon as the rain touched it, the liquid began to eat away at the fur and skin. The hamster, shrieking and writhing, started melting on the pavement.

I watched with horror, but made a point to remain calm, for the child’s sake. I turned my head to look at her, and noticed that she was crying. When she saw me watching her, she cried even harder and threw herself onto me, holding me tightly. I wrapped my arms around her, rocking her in place. I stroked her head, smoothing her tousled hair.

I tried desperately to change the subject. I asked her where her mother and father were and she looked up from my tear-stained shirt and pointed outside. I felt my heart sink into my stomach. I felt terrible, like I had only made things worse.

I apologized and she rubbed her eyes and said we should start moving. The rain had stopped for the moment, and we walked, hand in hand, out of the hospital.

We walked for what seemed like hours. Neither of us spoke a word. Then a sudden hissing came from behind us. I spun on my heels to see what had created the sound, and saw steam rising from a single spot on the ground. I looked at the young girl and saw the incredible fear in her eyes. I gripped her hand tightly and began to run. We hurtled towards a building, no more than 50 yards away. The drops were falling faster now. A drop fell on the girl’s sweater and she struggled trying to get it off. As she was doing this, she lost her footing and tripped on a crack in the street. As she fell, she yanked me down with her, causing me to scream. She shouted for me to go, but instead I pulled her back up, asking if she was all right. She proceeded to nod and keep running, but before she could, a single drop fell on her cheek, and she shrieked in agony. She dropped to her knees, releasing my hand. I told her to get up, but the drops were falling faster than ever. I knew I couldn’t stay out in the open much longer, but I couldn’t bring myself to leave her there.

I rushed to the overhang of the building we were running towards. I called to her, screaming for her to get up and run to me. The rain only fell harder, and the sound of the hissing seemed to mask my protests. The acid was burning holes in her flowery dress. She was screaming and writhing on the ground in pain. It took everything I had not to rush back out into the open to try and save her.

Her once porcelain face was melting and flesh was dripping from her bones. But, through the grueling ordeal, she managed to stop screaming and smile. She called to me, in a raspy, painful voice. She told me that she was going to go be with her parents, and that I should keep searching. She asked me not to worry about her. I fell to my knees, begging her to forgive me for not saving her. She rolled over so that I couldn’t see her face and I watched her melt away.

I sat there for a long time, staring at the spot that the little girl once was. Finally, I exhaled and stood. I moved into the building and the dream ended.

Pretty eery, eh?

Anyway, I think I’m going to expand on this idea and add a little more depth. Feedback would be nice. Thanks readers.

-Kris

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

