Dream Journal

How goes it, readers?

If any of you know me personally, you’ll know that I rarely have nice, happy dreams. It seems that nightmares are a sort of specialty of my brain’s. I’ve accepted this aspect of my life and rather than try to ruin them with sleep meds or hypnosis, I’ve decided to keep a dream journal. It’s a neat little thing for anyone, really. Here’s what I do:

Leave a notebook and pen on your bedside table or under your pillow. If you wake up in the middle of the night (or in the morning) with a dream or nightmare still fresh in your mind, write down everything you can remember, like prominent colors, people, locations and key events. Don’t worry about the linear pattern of the dream at this stage; just write what comes to mind first. Afterwards, read over what you wrote and try to think of the linear story line of the dream, if there is one. Remember, sometimes your dreams don’t make sense. They could just be a string of random events or people that don’t seem to really fit together.

From my experience, writing down your dreams can have several different effects on what you dream after you go back to sleep. Sometimes, writing them down can help you return to the dream once you fall back to sleep. Other times, it separates you from the dream, making it so you can’t have that dream again. There’s also some in-between with this; sometimes you have a different dream with some of the same people or places.

I don’t pretend to be an expert. This is all just from what I’ve experienced. I’ve tried writing for a week and then not writing the next, and I’ve realized that by writing in my journal, I have some control over which dreams recur and which dreams don’t. It’s not foolproof, by any means. But, it’s a step in the right direction for me.

A few short stories should come from this dream journal, don’t you worry.

-Kris

Leave a Reply

